Live Chat
Monday - Friday 8am - 6pm EST Chat Now
Contact Us
Monday - Friday 8am - 8pm EST 1-800-268-7737 Other Contact Options

Cart () Loading...

    • Quantity:
    • Delivery:
    • Dates:
    • Location:


The MCSA, MCSE, and MCSD certifications will retire on June 30, 2020. Microsoft will continue its transition to role-based certifications.

On February 27, 2020, Microsoft announced the retirement of its MCSA, MCSE, and MCSD certifications. Students will have until June 30, 2020 to complete these certification paths. To better align with industry trends, Microsoft is focusing its training programs on role-based certifications.


From the Microsoft Learning Blog:

Since we announced our focus on role-based training and certifications in September 2018, we’ve added a total of 34 certifications to our portfolio across Azure, Modern Workplace, and Business Applications. As we continue to expand on role-based learning offerings, all remaining exams associated with Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate (MCSA), Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer (MCSD), Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE) will retire on June 30, 2020.



View the complete Microsoft Course Portfolio

View the Microsoft Certifications



What Should You Do Today?

  • Don’t panic. You have time to complete the certifications you are currently pursuing.
  • But you need to move quickly. Time is limited. These exams will no longer be available after June 30, 2020.
  • Determine your course of action. If you are close to completing a retiring certification, we recommend you finish.
  • If you have not yet begun a certification, we recommend focusing on the new role-based certifications.
  • Global Knowledge can help. We have the courses you need to prepare for the exams so can achieve your certification goals before the retirement date.

MCSA, MCSE, and MCSD certification is still valuable. According to the Global Knowledge Salary Survey, these are some of the highest paying certifications in the field. Any MCSE, MCSA, or MCSD certification active on June 30, 2020 will remain active on your certification transcript until June 30, 2022.



What’s Retiring? These certifications and the associated exams will retire on June 30, 2020:


If you’re working towards a MCSA, MCSE, or MCSD certification, you will want to pass all required exams before they retire. All active MCSA, MCSE, and MCSD certifications will remain active for two years from the date of achievement.




What Should You Do Next?

With the retirement date for these certifications within sight, there are really two options - continue what you've started and complete your current certification path or if you aren't very far along you can switch paths and pursue one of the new role-based certification.  Either way you'll have a valuable credential that will validate your understanding and expertise on Microsoft technologies. All Microsoft certifications remain active for two years from the date achieved. 

  • Option 1: Get certified now. Continue your certification journey and complete your MCSA, MCSE, or MCSD certification.
  • Option 2: Pursue a role based certification. See below for the recommended training paths for the new role-based certification tracks.




Still have questions? Call 1-800-268-7737 to speak to an account representative.