Cart () Loading...

    • Quantity:
    • Delivery:
    • Dates:
    • Location:


The management-focused CISM certification promotes international security practices and recognizes the individual who manages, designs, oversees and assesses an enterprise’s information security.

Around the world, demand for skilled information security management professionals is on the rise, and the CISM certification is the globally accepted standard of achievement in this area. The uniquely management-focused CISM certification ensures holders understand business and know how to manage and adapt technology to their enterprise and industry. Since its inception in 2002, more than 30,000 professionals worldwide have earned the CISM to affirm their high level of technical competence and qualification for top-caliber leadership and management roles.

  • CISM demonstrates a deep understanding of the relationship between information security programs and broader business goals and objectives.
  • Earning a CISM is considered a great way to pave the path from security technologist to security manager.
  • CISM holders are consistently recognized among the most-qualified professionals in the information security and risk management fields.
  • CISM-certified employees provide enterprises with an information security management certification recognized by organizations and clients around the globe.
  • The credibility CISM offers is strengthened by its real-world experience requirement.


This certification is a DoD Approved 8570 Baseline Certification and meets DoD 8140/8570 training requirements. 


CISM Certification Training FAQs


What is CISM certification?

The Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) certification is a globally recognized certification offered by the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA). Unlike general cybersecurity training and technical cloud computing training, this certification is designed for management more than the individual IT security professional, emphasizing the management and governance of information security.

The security manager certificate primarily focuses on managing an organization's information security program.

The Certified Information Security Manager cost can vary based on several factors. For instance, ISACA members usually receive a discount on exam fees compared to non-members. If a candidate fails to pass the CISM exam on their first attempt, there may be additional costs associated with retaking the exam. These retake fees are typically lower than the initial examination expense but can still add to the overall cost of obtaining the certification.

Global Knowledge provides special offers to help you save on certification training costs and ensure you're getting the best value for your investment.


Why is CISM certification important for a career in information security?

The CISM certification is ideal for individuals who want to improve their knowledge of information security. Here's why this certification is essential:

  • Industry recognition: The CISM certification is globally recognized, and its recipients often have a deep understanding of the relationship between an organization's information security program and broader business objectives.
  • Emphasis on management and strategy: While many certifications focus on the technical aspects of information security, CISM emphasizes information security management. This distinction is crucial for those looking to transition into managerial or strategic roles within organizations.
  • Career advancement: A CISM certification can pave the way for career progression. Given its prestigious standing, many high-level roles in information security require or prioritize candidates with a CISM certification, leading to opportunities for leadership positions, increased responsibilities, and higher salaries.

Browse our IT training course catalog for available training programs and certifications.


What topics are covered in the CISM exam syllabus?

The CISM exam encompasses a vast range of topics categorized under four primary domains:

  • Information security governance
  • Information risk management
  • Information security program development and management
  • Information security incident management

Global Knowledge's CISM certification training provides comprehensive preparation for this examination, ensuring that candidates have the knowledge and practical skills required to excel in these four domains.

By undertaking this training, individuals can enhance their proficiency in information security governance, risk management, program development, and incident management, positioning themselves as experts in the field of information security management.


Is CISM certification worth it?

Organizations constantly seek experts who understand technical elements and can manage and strategize on a larger scale. CISM certification is a crucial credential and offers the following benefits:

  • Comprehensive skills: The CISM certification is more than just a testament to one's knowledge of information security. It signifies the acquisition of a holistic set of skills. Professionals are technically proficient and strategically poised to develop and oversee an entire enterprise information security program.
  • Salary boost: CISM-certified professionals command higher salaries compared to their non-certified counterparts. This salary increase is a testament to the emphasis organizations place on certified expertise. In many cases, the certification can significantly enhance earning potential, reflecting the value a CISM-certified professional brings to the table.

Required Exams

Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

Domain 1 – Information Security Governance (24%)
Domain 2 – Information Risk Management (30%)
Domain 3 – Information Security Program Development and Management (27%)
Domain 4 – Information Security Incident Management (19%)

  • All ISACA certification exams consist of 150 multiple choice questions that cover the respective job practice areas created from the most recent job practice analysis.
  • You have 4 hours to complete the exam.

Recommended Courses


The CISM continuing professional education (CPE) policy requires that you attain at least 20 CPE hours per year and 120 CPE hours every three years.

Visit the ISACA website for additional detail.