Cart () Loading...

    • Quantity:
    • Delivery:
    • Dates:
    • Location:


ITIL 2011: How Many Processes?

Jan. 11, 2012
Michael Scarborough

As long as I've been involved in service management, one of the perennial debates that's really never been resolved focuses around how many discrete processes ITIL describes.

It's really a fruitless debate, but it's a debate that continually raises its ugly head. As recently as Fusion 2011 I witnessed an attendee ask one of the ITIL authors, "In ITIL 2011, is there a definitive list of all of the processes?"

No such single list exists in the ITIL core books. However, section 4 of each of the ITIL 2011 core books shows the processes described within that specific book. When we deliver accredited ITIL training, if it is describe in section 4 of any of the ITIL core books, then it is considered a "process".

The following lists, grouped by lifecycle stage, are the processes described in ITIL 2011:

Service Strategy

  • Strategy management for IT services
  • Demand management
  • Service portfolio management
  • Business relationship management
  • Financial management for IT services

Service Design

  • Design coordination
  • Service catalogue management
  • Service level management
  • Supplier management
  • Availability management
  • Capacity management
  • IT service continuity management
  • Information security management

Service Transition

  • Transition planning and support
  • Service asset and configuration management
  • Change management
  • Change evaluation
  • Release and deployment management
  • Service validation and testing
  • Knowledge management

Service Operation

  • Event management
  • Incident management
  • Problem management
  • Request fulfillment
  • Access management

Continual Service Improvement

  • The seven-step improvement process

The total count is 26 processes described by ITIL 2011.