Cart () Loading...

    • Quantity:
    • Delivery:
    • Dates:
    • Location:


The Certified Implementation Specialist - IT Service Management exam certifies that a successful candidate has the skills and essential knowledge to contribute to the configuration, implementation, and maintenance of ServiceNow ITSM applications.


Exam content is divided into Learning Domains that correspond to key topics and activities typically encountered during ServiceNow implementations. In each Learning Domain, specific learning objectives have been identified and are tested in the exam. The listed subskills should NOT be considered an all-inclusive list of exam content.

For each ITSM application, know the following:

  • Baseline Application Functionality
    • Basic and advanced features in baseline installation of the current release
    • Functionality and features added or changed in the current release
    • State model and default process flow
    • Basic and advanced operations performed by users and the system
  • Architecture and Security
    • Key tables used in the application
    • Relationships among application tables
    • Roles and default Access Controls
    • Primary application components (Script Includes, Business Rules, etc.)
    • Integration capabilities
  • Business Cases / Use Cases
    • Value proposition
    • Key Performance Indicators and Benchmarks
    • Selection of appropriate features and functions to meet business requirements
  • Proven Practices for Implementation
    • Implementation approaches to meet requirements that preserve upgradability, scalability, and maintainability
    • Implementation solutions that work in conjunction with baseline application functionality


  • 6+ months general ServiceNow platform experience
  • 6+ months ServiceNow implementation experience
  • General familiarity with industry terminology, acronyms, and initialisms

Required Exams

Certified Implementation Specialist - IT Service Management exam.


CIS-ITSM Exam Overview

Exam questions are based on official ServiceNow training materials, the ServiceNow documentation site and the ServiceNow developer site. Study materials posted elsewhere online are not official, and as per ServiceNow, should not be used to prepare for the examination.


Exam Registration

Each candidate must register for the exam via the ServiceNow Webassessor website using a voucher obtained by completing the ITSM Implementation training prerequisite. Voucher codes are nontransferable and provides the candidate eligibility to sit for the Certified Implementation Specialist – IT Service Management exam only. During the registration process, each test taker has the option of taking the exam at an Authorized Testing Center or as an online-proctored exam. 

Exam Structure

The exam consists of approximately 60 questions. For each question on the examination, there are multiple possible responses. Select the most correct answer to the question. There are multiple choice (single answer) and multiple select (select all that apply) questions.

Exam Results and Retakes

After completing and submitting the exam, a pass or fail result is immediately calculated and displayed to the candidate. More detailed results are not provided to the candidate. If a candidate fails to pass an exam, they may register to take the exam again up to three more times at a cost.

Next Steps

Any of the other 12 Certified Implementation Specialist courses or certifications.

Recommended Courses


There are no recertification requirements.