Skip to main Content

SSCP - Systems Security Certified Practitioner

The Premier Certification in Security IT Administration

SSCP certification demonstrates you have the advanced technical skills and knowledge to implement, monitor and administer IT infrastructure using security best practices, policies and procedures established by the cybersecurity experts at (ISC)².

SSCP is ideal for IT administrators, managers, directors and network security professionals responsible for the hands-on operational security of their organization’s critical assets.

Effective November 1, 2018, the SSCP will be based on a new exam outline. Learn more by reading the (ISC)² SSCP FAQs.

About the exam

The SSCP exam evaluates your expertise across seven security domains.

The (ISC)² SSCP certification Domains are:

  • Access Controls (16%)
  • Security Operations and Administration (15%)
  • Risk Identification, Monitoring and Analysis (15%)
  • Incident Response and Recovery (13%)
  • Cryptography (10%)
  • Network and Communications Security (15%)
  • Systems and Application Security (16%)

The SSCP exam is an MCQ with 125 questions. Pass rate is 70%. Candidates have 3 hours to take this exam in a Pearson Vue testing center.

(ISC)² recommends candidates review their exam policies and procedures prior to registering for the examination.


Candidates must have a minimum of 1 year cumulative work experience in 1 or more of the 7 domains of the SSCP CBK. A 1 year prerequisite pathway will be granted for candidates who received a degree (bachelors or masters) in a cybersecurity program.

Recommended Training Course

SSCP  Systems Security Certified Practitioner - Certification Preparation 

Download the SSCP Exam Outline (after the 1st of November 2018)


Once you have passed your SSCP exam and are certified, you need to recertify every three years by:

  • Earning 20 continuing professional education (CPE) credits each year.
  • Paying an Annual Maintenance Fee (AMF).

More Information

Please contact us for more details about this or any of the (ISC)² certifications and training courses.

Cookie Control toggle icon