Skip to main Content

CISSP - Certified Information Systems Security Professional

The World's Premier Cybersecurity Certification

Earning the CISSP proves you have what it takes to effectively design, implement and manage a best-in-class cybersecurity program. With a CISSP, you validate your expertise and become an (ISC)² member, unlocking a broad array of exclusive resources, educational tools and peer-to-peer networking opportunities.

The CISSP is ideal for experienced security practitioners, managers and executives interested in proving their knowledge across a wide array of security practices and principles, enabling you to successfully design, engineer, implement and run an effective security program.

About the exam

The CISSP exam evaluates your expertise across eight security domains. The broad spectrum of topics included in the CISSP Common Body of Knowledge (CBK) ensure its relevancy across all disciplines in the field of information security.

Successful candidates need to be competent in the following 8 domains:

  • Security and Risk Management (15%)
  • Asset Security (10%)
  • Security Architecture and Engineering (13%)
  • Communication and Network Security (14%)
  • Identity and Access Management - IAM (13%)
  • Security Assessment and Testing (12%)
  • Security Operations (13%)
  • Software Development Security (10%)

The CISSP exam contains between 100-150 questions, the format is MCQ with advanced innovative questions. Pass rate is 70%. Candidates have 3 hours to complete this exam in a Pearson Vue testing center. CISSP exams in languages other than English are administered as linear, fixed-form exams, with 250 questions that must be completed in a 6 hour timeframe.

(ISC)² recommends candidates review exam policies and procedures prior to registering for the examination.


Candidates must have a minimum of 5 years cumulative, paid, work experience in 2 or more of the 8 domains of the CISSP CBK. Earning a 4-year college degree or regional equivalent or an additional credential from the (ISC)² approved list will satisfy 1 year of the required experience. Education credit will only satisfy 1 year of experience.
A candidate that doesn’t have the required experience to become a CISSP may become an Associate of (ISC)² by successfully passing the CISSP examination. The Associate of (ISC)² will then have 6 years to earn the 5 years required experience.

Recommended Training Course

GK9840CISSP Certification preparation 

Download the CISSP Exam Outline


Once you have passed your CISSP exam and are certified, you need to recertify every three years by:

  • Earning 20 continuing professional education (CPE) credits each year.
  • Paying an Annual Maintenance Fee (AMF).

More Information

Please contact us for more details about this or any of the (ISC)² certifications and training courses.

Cookie Control toggle icon