Skip to main Content

CGEIT - Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT

Bring IT Governance into your organization

The CGEIT certification recognizes a wide range of professionals for their knowledge and application of enterprise IT governance principles and practices.  

As a CGEIT certified professional, you demonstrate that you are capable of bringing IT governance into an organization - that you grasp the complex subject holistically, and therefore, enhance value to the enterprise.


Once you have passed the CGEIT exam you have 5 years in which to apply for the CGEIT certification, you must have five or more years of experience managing in an advisory or oversight role and/or supporting the governance of the IT-related contribution to an enterprise including a minimum of one year of experience related to the definition, establishment, and management of a framework for the governance of IT. This experience is defined specifically by the domains and task statements described in the CGEIT Job Practice.

There are no substitutions or experience waivers.

About the CGEIT exam

The ISACA CGEIT exam is an MCQ with 150 questions based on the following 5 areas:

  • Framework for the Governance of Enterprise IT (25%)
  • Strategic Management (20%)
  • Benefits Realization (16%)
  • Risk Optimization (24%)
  • Resource Optimization (15%)

The exam is 4 hours in duration and needs to be scheduled via an approved PSI Center. This can be done via the PSI testing site
Please note: The CISM exam is only available in English however a glossary of terminology is provided by ISACA on their website in multiple languages

Training Course

CGEIT Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT


The CGEIT Continuing Professional Development Program (CPE) requires the validation of at least 20 hours of CPE per year and 120 hours of CPE every three years.

More Information

Please contact us for more details about this or any of the ISACA certifications or training courses.