CASP Approved for DoD 8570.1


According to the Defense Information Systems Agency (DISA) the CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP) is now 8570.1 approved. That’s good news for anyone looking for an alternative to what’s currently on the list for IAT level III and IAM level II security certification compliance.

CompTIA’s CASP certification is one of the newest security certifications and is designed for security professionals that have a minimum of 10 years hands-on experience in IT administration and at least five years of hands-on technical experience. What I like about the certification is that it’s a challenging certification that requires candidates to have hands-on experience with multiple security and networking technologies. While there is no required prerequisite, the CASP certification is intended to follow CompTIA Security+ or equivalent certification.

If you’re interested in the exam it’s comprised of 80 questions. Test candidates have a total of 150 minutes to complete the test and it’s graded pass/fail only. Just like other CompTIA certifications it must be kept current through CompTIA’s continuing education program. If you’re interested in this certification one good place to start is the exam domains:

  • Enterprise Security
  • Risk Management, Policy/Procedure, and Legal
  • Research and Analysis
  • Integration of Computing, Communications, and Business Disciplines
In this article

Join the Conversation