ITIL Certification Tracks

The IT Infrastructure Library® (ITIL®) is a set of best practices for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with the needs of business. ITIL is published as a series of five core publications, each covering an ITSM lifecycle stage. ITIL describes procedures, tasks, and checklists that are not organization specific and are used to establish a minimum level of competency, providing a baseline from which to plan, implement, and measure.

ITIL advocates that IT services must be aligned to the needs of the business and underpin the core business processes. It provides guidance on how to use IT as a tool to facilitate business change, transformation, and growth.

The five core publications map the entire ITIL Service Lifecycle, beginning with the identification of customer needs and drivers of IT requirements, through to the design and implementation of the service, and finally, on to monitoring and improving the service.

Adopting ITIL Offers Many Benefits, Including:

  • Improved IT services
  • Reduced costs
  • Improved customer satisfaction through a professional approach to service delivery
  • Improved productivity
  • Improved use of skills and experience
  • Improved delivery of third-party services

ITIL® Service Lifecycle Certification Training

After earning your ITIL Foundation certification, you can specialize your expertise at the Intermediate ITIL Level. You can even work your way through the Intermediate Level to achieve ITIL Expert certification. The ITIL Intermediate Level offers two education paths: Service Lifecycle, which is management focused, and Service Capability, which is practitioner focused. You may take as few or as many ITIL Intermediate courses and earn qualifications as you wish, building a portfolio of certifications tailored to your requirements and interests.

The ITIL Service Lifecycle phases lay the foundation for the ITIL Service Lifecycle certification series, which consists of five courses:

  • Service Strategy
  • Service Design
  • Service Transition
  • Service Operation
  • Continual Service Improvement

The ITIL Service Lifecycle courses are ideal for those in management or leadership roles who need to understand the management and coordination of the ITIL practice areas. The courses will benefit those wishing to comprehend the justification for investing in IT services.

ITIL® Service Capability Certification Training

The ITIL Service Capability track consists of four certifications, or qualifications, that focus on process activities and their execution and use. The Service Capability courses deliver specialized knowledge on functions, roles and responsibilities, cluster grouping activities, and implementation.

If your job role involves several related ITIL processes or you need detailed process level knowledge, the Service Capability qualifications are for you. They are also appropriate if you want to achieve ITIL Expert status to exhibit a balanced and well-rounded understanding of ITIL best practices.

Related Posts
What Do You Do After You Become an ITIL Expert?
ITIL Courseware Improvements

Related Courses
ITIL Foundation
ITIL: Managing Across the Lifecycle

In this article

Join the Conversation