Live Chat
Monday - Friday 8am - 6pm EST Chat Now
Contact Us
Monday - Friday 8am - 8pm EST 1-800-268-7737 Other Contact Options

Cart () Loading...

    • Quantity:
    • Delivery:
    • Dates:
    • Location:


CompTia Training

Validate advanced-level security knowledge and skills

CASP certification is an international, vendor-neutral certification that designates IT professionals with advanced-level security skills and knowledge. Achieving CASP certification proves your competency in enterprise security, risk management, research and analysis, and integrating computing, communications, and business disciplines. Becoming CASP certified confirms that you have the technical knowledge and skills required to conceptualize, design, and engineer secure solutions across complex enterprise environments. CASP certifies that you can apply critical thinking and judgment across a broad spectrum of security disciplines to propose and implement solutions that map to enterprise drivers.

8570.1 Approved 

CASP certification is included in the approved list of certifications that meet the DoD Directive 8570.1 requirements. It is approved as a baseline certification for the IAT Level III, IAM Level II, and IASAE Level I and II.

CASP is CompTIA's first mastery-level certification for enterprise technical security leads.


CASP certification is ideal for IT security professionals who have at least 10 years of experience in IT administration, including at least five years of hands-on technical security experience.

While there is no required prerequisite, CASP certification is intended to follow CompTIA Security+ or equivalent experience and has a technical, hands-on focus at the enterprise level.

Required Exams

CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP) CAS-001

About the Exam 

You will have 150 minutes to complete the 80-question, multiple-choice CASP certification exam (CAS-001). The scenario- and performance-based exam covers:

  • Enterprise security
  • Risk management, policy/procedure, and legal issues
  • Research and analysis
  • Integration of computing, communications, and business disciplines


Recommended Courses


Exam Renewal and the Continuing Education Program 

CompTIA requires that CASP certification holders renew their credential every three years. Renewal can be achieved two ways:

  • Take the most current version of the CASP certification exam.
  • Earn continuing education units (CEUs) by participating in qualified activities, such as publishing an article or white paper, obtaining another industry certification, or attending a relevant conference or event. CASP certification renewal requires 75 CEUs per renewal period.

Certifications earned in 2011 and beyond contain the designation "CE", indicating the certification is subject to the renewal policy. If you achieved certification prior to 2011 (the non-CE version), you will retain your certification for life. No renewal is required, although you may choose to or be required to enroll in the continuing education program.

The program requires an annual fee based on the CompTIA certification you are renewing. If you have multiple CompTIA certifications, you only need to pay the annual fee and earn CEUs for the highest-level certification you are renewing. Earning a "CE" designation on your highest-level certification automatically grants a "CE" designation for your lower-level certifications.