Skip to main Content

RHCE Certification Lab

  • Course Code RH299
  • Duration 4 days

Course Delivery

Additional Payment Options

  • GTC 36 inc. VAT

    GTC, Global Knowledge Training Credit, please contact Global Knowledge for more details

Public Classroom Price


excl. VAT

Request Group Training Add to Cart

Course Delivery

This course is available in the following formats:

  • Company Event

    Event at company

  • Public Classroom

    Traditional Classroom Learning

  • Virtual Learning

    Learning that is virtual

Request this course in a different delivery format.

Course Overview


The RHCE® Rapid Track Course (RH299) is designed for senior Linux® system administrators who want to validate their competencies by earning the Red Hat® Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) and Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) credentials. This is a fast-paced review course that combines the RHCSA Rapid Track Course (RH199) and System Administration III (RH254) courses—normally 8 days of training—into a single 4-day course. Building on the students' extensive knowledge of command-line-based Linux administration, the course moves very quickly through the intermediate and advanced tasks covered by lab-based knowledge checks and facilitative discussions.
By the end of this course, the senior Linux administrator student will have been exposed to all the intermediate and advanced competencies tested by the RHCSA and RHCE exams. Exams sold separately.

Course Schedule


Target Audience


This course is recommended for an experienced Linux system administrator with at least 3 years of Linux experience who wants a fast-track solution to earn an RHCE certification andan experienced Solaris system administrator who’s completed the Red Hat Enterprise Linux for Solaris Administrators (RH290) course.
This course is not recommended for students who have successfully completed the RHCSA Rapid Track Course (RH200). For those students, we recommend the Red Hat System Administration III (RH254) course.

Course Objectives

  • Package management
  • Network management
  • Storage management
  • Account and authentication management
  • Installation, Kickstart, and virtualization
  • SELinux and firewall management
  • Web service
  • Email service
  • Network file-sharing services

Course Content


Unit 1: Software Management

  • Objective: Manage packages with yum, rpm, and RHN; build an RPM package and place it in a repository.

Unit 2: Network Management

  • Objective: Configure and troubleshoot network settings; configure network bonding and IP aliases.

Unit 3: Storage Management

  • Objective: Manage partitioning, file systems, and swap space; configure encrypted partitions and iSCSI initiator.

Unit 4: Logical Volume Management (LVM)

  • Objective: Manage physical volumes, volume groups, and logical volumes with their file systems.

Unit 5: Account Management

  • Objective: Provide password aging for accounts; use ACLs and SGID directories for collaborative directories.

Unit 6: Authentication Management

  • Objective: Configure an LDAP and Kerberos client; configure autofs to support an authentication client; configure sudo and SSD.

Unit 7: Installation, Kickstart, and Virtualization

  • Objective: Install a system and manage kickstart and firstboot; use virtualization tools to manage virtual machines.

Unit 8: Boot Management

  • Objective: Configure runlevels and sysctl; reset the root password; understand the boot process.

Unit 9 : Security Enhanced Linux (SELinux) Management

  • Objective: Understand, troubleshoot, and manage SELinux.

Unit 10: Firewall Management

  • Objective: Manage the firewall.

Unit 11: Network Time Protocol (NTP) Service

  • Objective: Configure an NTP server and provide that service to clients.

Unit 12: System Logging Service

  • Objective: Create disk, I/O, and memory usage reports; configure remote logging.

Unit 13: Web (HTTP/HTTPS) Service

  • Objective: Manage a web server with virtual hosts, CGI scripts, and user-based file/directory access controls.

Unit 14: SMTP Service

  • Objective: Null client; outbound smarthost relay; accept inbound connections.

Unit 15: Caching-only (DNS) Service

  • Objective: Configure a caching nameserver and DNS forwarder.

Unit 16: File Sharing with NFS

  • Objective: Manage and secure the NFS service using NFSv3 and NFSv4.

Unit 17: File Sharing with CIFS

  • Objective: Configure the CIFS to provide home directories, file sharing, and printer service; use a client to access the CIFS shares.

Unit 18: File Transfer Protocol (FTP) Service

  • Objective: Provide FTP drop-box upload service.

Unit 19: Secure Shell (SSH) Service

  • Objective: Configure and implement SSH keys.

Course Prerequisites

  • Meet the requirements for attending Red Hat System Administration I, II, and III courses.
  • Have the same skill set as an RHCT/RHCSA.

Test Certification

  • RHCE Exam (EX300) Hands-on, performance-based, 2-hour exam.

Follow on Courses

  • RH318, Red Hat Enterprise Virtualization
Cookie Control toggle icon