Live Chat
Monday - Friday 8am - 6pm EST Chat Now
Contact Us
Monday - Friday 8am - 8pm EST 1-800-268-7737 Other Contact Options

Cart () Loading...

    • Quantity:
    • Delivery:
    • Dates:
    • Location:


Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) Exam IES (EX300K)

GK# 1180 Vendor# EX300K

Course Overview


The Red Hat Certified Engineer Exam (IES) is a performance-based evaluation of Red Hat Enterprise Linux system administration skills and knowledge. You will perform a number of routine system administration tasks and be evaluated on whether you have met specific objective criteria. Performance-based testing means that you must perform tasks similar to what you must perform on the job.


  • Delivery Format:
  • Date:
  • Location:
  • Access Period:



Viewing outline for:

On-Demand Outline

1. Diagnose and correct boot failures arising from bootloader, module, and filesystem errors

2. Use the rescue environment to recover unbootable systems

3. Diagnose and correct problems with network services

4. Diagnose and correct problems where SELinux contexts or booleans are interfering with proper operation

5. Produce and deliver reports on system utilization (processor, memory, disk, and network)

6. Use bash shell scripting to automate system maintenance tasks

7. Install the packages needed to provide the service

8. Configure SELinux to support the service

9. Configure the service to start when the system is booted

10. Configure the service for basic operation

11. Configure host-based and user-based security for the service

12. Services to be configured (with *additions* to above tasks):

13. HTTP/HTTPS: virtual hosting, private directories, stage a CGI script, group managed content

14. DNS: caching name server, DNS forwarding

15. FTP: anonymous-only download, anonymous "drop-box" upload (provisional)

16. NFS: share a directory to specific clients, share for group collaboration

17. SMB: share a directory to specific clients, share for group collaboration

18. SMTP: null client, outbound smarthost relay, accepting inbound

19. SSH: key-based authentication, port forwarding

20. Rsyslog: remote logging

21. NTP: serve to selected clients

22. Use /proc/sys and sysctl to modify and set kernel run-time parameters

23. Use iptables to implement packet filtering

24. Route IP traffic and use iptables for NAT

25. Establish IP static routes

26. Configure Ethernet bonding

27. Manage default user/group password policies

28. Build a simple rpm that packages a single file

29. Configure system as an iSCSI Initiator persistently mounting existing Target

30. Authenticate to an existing Kerberos V realm (provisional)

31. Create a private yum repository (provisional)



Who Should Attend

  • Current Red Hat Certified System Administrators (RHCSAs)
  • Linux IT professionals the can demonstrate the competencies needed to earn an RHCE, but have not taken the RHCE
  • Solaris Administrators with greater than three years experience
  • Red Hat Certified Engineers who were certified on Red Hat Enterprise Linux version 4, 5, or 6

Follow-On Courses

Course Delivery

This course is available in the following formats:


Train at your own pace with 24/7 access to courses that help you acquire must-have technology skills.

Request this course in a different delivery format.