Cisco UCS Question of the Week

The Ethernet switching mode determines how the Fabric Interconnect behaves as a switching device between the servers and the network. What is the default Ethernet switching mode?

  1. End Host Mode
  2. Switch Mode
  3. Trunking Mode
  4. Disjointed Mode

The correct answer is 1.

End Host Mode provides local Layer 2 switching on the server ports, and does not behave like a normal Layer 2 switch on its uplinks. Instead, server NICs are pinned to a specific uplink, and no local switching happens from uplink to uplink. This allows End Host Mode to attach to the network like a Host without spanning tree, and all uplinks forwarding on all VLANs. End Host Mode is the preferred mode, and it’s enabled by default

Related Courses
Cisco UCS Training

In this article

Join the Conversation