Nine Steps to Get Your CBAP Certification

  1.  Click here to see if you qualify for the CBAP. You need:
    • Minimum 7500 hours of BA work experience aligned with A Guide to the Business Analysis Book of Knowledge® (BABOK® Guide) in the last 10 years
    • Minimum 900 hours in four of the six knowledge areas
    • Minimum 21 hours of Professional Development in the past four years
    • Two references from a career manager, client, or Certified Business Analysis Professional (CBAP®) recipient
    • Signed Code of Conduct

    If you do not meet those requirements, then you may want to look at the CCBA:

    • Minimum 3750 hours of business analysis work experience aligned with the BABOK® Guide in the last seven years
    • Minimum 900 hours in two of the six knowledge areas or 500 hours in four of the six knowledge areas
    • Minimum 21 hours of Professional Development in the past four years
    • Minimum high school education or equivalent
    • Two references from a career manager, client or Certified Business Analysis ProfessionalTM (CBAP®) recipient
    • Signed Code of Conduct

    The Business Analysis Body of Knowledge (BABOK) six knowledge areas of business analysis are:

    • Business Analysis Planning and Monitoring
    • Elicitation
    • Requirements Management and Communication
    • Enterprise Analysis
    • Requirements Analysis
    • Solution Assessment and Validation.
  2. Begin documenting your work experience. Remember that only 25% of time you worked on a project can be counted as business analysis activity.
  3. Register for training to prepare for the exam and earn the Professional Development credits. Remember these have to come from the last 4 years. If you use the training for your Professional Development Requirements then do not submit your application until the class is over.
  4. Fill out the application. You can get it here from IIBA’s website. You can call IIBA at 1-866-512-4422 about the application to make sure you submit the correct information.
  5. Submit your application. You will hear back in about three weeks on whether or not you have been approved.
  6. The cost of the application and exam is $450.00 USD for IIBA™ members or $575 USD for non-members. Once your application is approved and you pay the exam fee to IIBA, you may take the exam. You will receive an email notification to register online for the exam.
  7. The CBAP® and CCBA® exams each have 150 questions and are computer based. All the questions are multiple choice with four possible answers. You have three and a half hours to complete the exam. You will be notified immediately if you passed or failed. If you failed, you will get information on what to do for a retake.  You must pass the exam within one year of the approval of your application or two exam attempts, whichever comes first. The fee to take the exam again is $65 USD.
  8. Recertification is required every three years and can be done through any BA related professional development.

Related Post
New IIBA Business Analysis Certification

Related Courses
CBAP® – Certified Business Analysis Professional
CCBA™ – Certification of Competency in Business Analysis™

In this article

Join the Conversation